Jon Lee Carre book cover shoot and change of plan

I have changed my idea to where my 4 photos are going to be from Jon Lee Carre’s spy novels. I’m doing this because I got a lot of shots I’m proud of from this shoot and feel they fit the purpose of the other book covers and would fit well together.

When shooting this I asked him to stand in an alleyway where I could blacken out the background in post editing and take some mysterious looking shots of him against the wall and also some posey mysterious portraits. My model smokes and it was quite cold outside so I asked him if he could blow out his smoke as I take the photo to capture it on the air and I feel it leaves you questioning whether it’s smoke or his breath because of the cold and I think that holds another mystery as it leaves you asking questions about him.

To create the atmospheric look I wanted in the dark I chose to shoot at night with my continuous flash witch lighted up him and his face and the background not so well lit which is what i wanted as it made him the main focus of the image but it also made it easier for me on post editing to darken out the background and lighten up the foreground if needed be.

Leave a comment